Script Club | AACT

Script Club

The Play's the Thing

Graphic of an open bookScript Club, offered every other month, is a collaborative conversation with peers about the selected script. Learn more about titles trending with community theatres, discover strategies for the challenges and opportunities, and network with other organizations producing the show.

  • Available for AACT members only; $10 (you must be signed in to this site to register)
  • All events begin at 2:00 pm (Eastern) / 1:00 pm (Central) / 12:00 pm (Mountain) / 11:00 am (Pacific).
  • Attendees are expected to read the script before attending.
  • Access to webinar is one per registrant.
  • Recordings will not be available.

Coming Up

Thursday, Nov. 3
The SpongeBob Musical
Based on the series by Stephen Hillenburg, Book by Kyle Jarrow, Musical Production Conceived by Tina Landau

Logo for "The Sponge Bob Musical"With strong title recognition, a successful Broadway run, and a hit score featuring songs from  Aerosmith, Sara Bareilles, David Bowie, Cyndi Lauper, John Legend, Panic! At the Disco and many more, it's easy to see why so many community theatres are eagerly producing the Nickelodeon blockbuster.  Brainstorm with other organizations and artists on all the creative opportunities and challenges you'll face on your way to Bikini Bottom.

   >> Registration

 

Recommended Reading
Cover of "Backwards and Forwards"]Backwards & Forwards: A Technical Manual for Reading Plays, by David Ball
The best-selling script analysis book for four decades

“In fewer than one hundred pages, this marvelously instructive book shows how to unlock the secrets of plot, character, theme, exposition, imagery, motivation, conflict, theatricality and pacing. . . . Our editor says he learned more about dramatic structure in the few hours he spent with this 96-page book than he has in his 20 years of theater experience.” — Stage Directions

>> Available from Amazon

 

Authorize.Net Merchant - Click to Verify Credit Card Merchant Services